Baby B

by heritagehobinv

Its a pretty amazing feeling to become an aunt and I cherish the times I spend with my niece. It was painful when she was born on the east coast and we lived on the west coast; We were unable to meet her till she was 5 months old! Now that we are close I get to have the pleasure of watching her grow and develop on a regular basis and boy does she grow fast! I came across these silly pictures from our last visit together. In these pictures I was showing her how to be goofy (please focus more on her facial expressions, not mine!). Gradually she hammed it up like her auntie knows how to do very well!

As usual, it got me reminiscing.  I had not seen my sister pregnant until coming home for her baby shower on a hot summer day in June 2010, she was born the end of July.  I was a bit emotional about the whole thing and it was very special for me to be there. Not knowing anything about this baby in her belly, I must have already felt a connection. I designed shower cards and flags and my mother made pretty cookies to match (we make a great team!). Choosing to make the “B” as a focal point worked out because now my nieces nick name starts with a “B”! I cant wait till we can have full conversations together but , for the time being, Im enjoying the phone calls I get from her “cell phone” saying, “Hi Gigi”!